Niagara’s Dark History

Only dark history and strange stories of Canada’s Prettiest Town, Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Featuring the true villain of the 1813 burning, a disgruntled British politician.  With a disappearance that almost ended Freemasonry, the lover’s public execution and standing up to slavery with violence.

Plus a leisurely walk through Ontario’s oldest cemetery, stories of Niagara’s daredevils and a hidden historic fort.


Begins in May. Now Booking…


Centre of town for story of burning


A nice walk into St. Mark’s
for darker history

by the lake

Mouth of the Niagara River
Tickets at the Ghost Walks Gift Shop

126 Queen Street MAP & HOURS
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada

Gift Shop - accepted payment types - debit, interac, credit card


Niagara on the Lake Prices

Adults . . . . . . . $12.00
Kids 13 & under . . . . $9.00
Seniors 60 & over . $10.00
+ HST Tax / No Hidden Fees!


Book for Niagara’s Dark History

Select Date / Click Book Now to See Times

Searching Availability...


  • May until August
    • Every Saturday @ 500p

niagara dark history info

Niagara's Dark History Tour - duration
Niagara's Dark History Tour - type of tour
Ghost Walks Masks required
Niagara's Dark History Tour - parking
Ghost Walks Wheelchair

group bookings for this tour
private walks information

FAQ & About Niagara-on-the-Lake

A focus on masterful storytelling at a reasonable price (with no hidden fees!).  We’ve put special attention into respecting the ghost story.  A dedication to traditional styles mixed with natural (and interesting) odd history. It’s been our specialty since 2003.

When a date or time slot is missing in the Booking… If a missing time, that tour time is sold out. A missing date, means the entire night is sold out.

If you have a group of 8 or more people we may be able to provide a discount.  This depends on night and time of year.  Find out by Making Contact.  Make sure to mention the number of people and desired date for your group.

This is an outdoor tour.  Featuring a walk through the cemetery and stop in the picturesque Gazebo.

Yes.  As long as the tour isn’t sold out. 

Please arrive at the Ghost Walks Gift Shop 15-20 minutes before the tour time.  You can buy tickets and get really easy directions to the starting location.  The starting location is a 3 minute walk from the shop.

Oldest in Ontario

One of the main features of this unique tour is a stroll through St. Mark’s Cemetery.  The oldest in Ontario gives it a feel more common in historic European towns.  With randomly places stones and crypts shaded by mature trees.

The site of much history and legend.


  • The most important rock of the War of 1812
  • The tragic story behind two empty graves
  • A gruesome legend around one damaged stone
  • And the reason for an unmarked grave

It’s the kind of cemetery you’d expect to be in the legendary Niagara-on-the-Lake.  And a big part of this late afternoon stroll through the darker side of Canada’s Prettiest Town.

Much Very Dark History

So many stories surround this very historic region.  British Canada was born out of the violence in Niagara.  This Tour is all about that rich history.

Including the Burning of Niagara on the Lake

After the defeat of the American’s in Stoney Creek.  The War of 1812 is looking bleak.  For none more than a former British Loyalist named Joseph.  He staked his whole life on the Americans.

Failed and ruined.  When hearing the Americans would abandon Niagara-on-the-Lake, Joseph snapped. 

It was British Politician!

It was Joseph who suggested they burn the town.  Said, “To deny the British shelter during the cold winter.  It’ll slow them down.” 

Then on the night of December 10th, 1813, he rode around town on his horse forcing families out of their homes. 

Many ran in fear to succumb to the cold.  As soldiers marched and burned.  Over 400 women, children and elderly forced into the cold.

Just a taste.  The interesting parts of the full history featured on Niagara’s Dark History Tour.

Visiting the Graves – Full and Empty

Includes a walk-through Ontario’s oldest cemetery at St. Marks Church.  Containing so many graves filled with the bodies of town pioneers.  And 2 empty ones.

We’ll talk about the tragic story of the Foam.  A Toronto yacht which left Toronto bound for the Queen’s Royal Hotel in Niagara on the Lake. 

Headstrong boys were too brave.  They sailed into a storm off of Port Dalhousie. 

They found the boat the next morning.  Only 5 of the 7 boys in there cabin beds, as if peacefully sleeping. 

7 graves with 5 bodies = 2 empty.  The interesting parts of this story, and others including the truth of the “Chopping Block” stone… all inside this beautiful Graveyard.